Australian Government Changes “Slav-Macedonian” Directive to “Macedonian”

The Australian government has decided to change its directive concerning the Australian-Skopje community being recognized under the name “Macedonian” instead of “Slav-Macedonian”, used since 1994.

The decision was formally announced by AMHRCA (Australian Macedonian Human Rights Committee) on its website, which also posted a letter of the Department of Immigration and Citizenship confirming the change in policies, which resulted after a year-long campaign led by the FYROM lobby in Australia.

Ιn its announcement, AMHRCA called on the Australian government to proceed now with recognizing FYROM under the name Republic of Macedonia.